Movie Review: Green Room



Producers: Neil Kopp,Victor Moyers, Anish Savjani
Writer:  Jeremy Saulnier
Director: Jeremy Saulnier
Cast:  Anton Yelchin, Imogen Poots, Alia Shawkat, Joe Cole, Callum Turner, Patrick Stewart

Plot:  An itinerarate punk band gets a gig at a neo-nazi club in the remote Pacific Northwest.  While there they become witnesses to a murder in the green room of the club.  They barricade themselves in the room and try to figure out how alive.

So on my birthday my son came over to play one of my favorite board games (King of Tokyo) and watch movies.  So after I had played a game or two he asked if I wanted to watch Green Room.  He told me that it was done by the same person who has directed Blue Ruin. Since I appreciated his freshman project I said let’s see it.  

Well frankly I didn’t have any idea what I was going to experience.  This  has been billed as a horror thriller, which it could be, for my two cents horror implies the supernatural, which this has none.  What it does have is violence that isn’t glamourized.  Let me try to use an example that was pointed out to me.  John Wyck is a violent film but it’s glitzy. It’s all shiny and fun.  You know that this isn’t how violent deaths actually are this is Hollywood violence.  Not so with Green Room.  This is shocking, sickening, this is what it means when: ” The voice of your brother’s blood is crying to me from the ground.” It is like the first murder all over again, when you had no idea what murder meant.  

Needless to say this movie isn’t for the faint of heart, it reminds me alot of a certain Korean movie, whose name escapes me now,  about an ex black ops who tracks down the serial killer who murdered his wife.  That was hard to watch as the Green Room. 

This isn’t family friendly by any means, and if I was rating this I would say you have to be at least forty years old and in a brightly lit room.

This is an intense film and giving it a star rating doesn’t work.  Just let me say watch at your own discretion.  

