Christmas Movies 


So it’s that time of year when a certain group of movies appear on movie channels and cable TV channels.  And I  won’t deny that I have a list of films that I will watch when it gets close to Christmas.  And so without further ado and in no particular order:

Holiday Inn 

The movie where Bing Crosby first sang White Christmas.  And in my  opinion when he was in his best voice.  

Hogfather 

Terry Pratchett’s Hogfather. What can I say about film that has a world which is flat laying on the back of four elephants that stands upon a giant turtle swimming through the galaxy. How about here’s a chance to see Michelle Dockery in her first film roll. Or what about taking a look at a very different Santa Claus (he has boar tusks!). Or maybe here is a fantasy film that puts it’s tongue in its cheek and keeps it there. Give it a try.

Miracle on 34th Street (1947)

This has been remade a couple of times but I think that the original is still the best.  And for me Edmund Glenn is perfect as the little old man who claims to be the one and only Santa Claus.  

A Christmas Carol (Scrooge) 1951 Alastair Sim

This film is found under both names and again in my humble opinion is the very best version of Charles Dickens story.  Alastair Sim is the best Scrooge.  There is a colorized version of this film but the black and white version is the best.  

White Christmas 

OK I said Holiday Inn is Bing at his best voice, not going to take that back.  But Danny Kaye is at his manic best in this movie.  As the Davis to Crosby’s Wallace when he looks at Bing and says “I want you to get married. I want you to have nine children. And if you only spend five minutes a day with each kid, that’s forty-five minutes, and I’d at least have time to go out and get a massage or something.”I die laughing.

It’s a Wonderful Life 

Frank Capra’s classic tale of how one life can affect so many others is a classic Christmas tale of redemption and friendship.  And is a must see at my house.  

