Movie Review: Dr. Strange


Producer: Kevin Feige

Director
: Scott Derrickson

Writers
: Jon Spaihts, Scott Derrickson, C. Robert Cargill

Cast
: Benedict Cumberbatch, Chiwetel Ejiofor, Rachel McAdams, Benedict Wong, Michael Stuhlbarg, Benjamin Bratt, Scott Adkins, Mads Mikkelsen, Tilda Swinton

Plot:  Brilliant but arrogant surgeon Doctor Stephen Strange suffers an accident that robs him of the use of his hands and his livelihood.  Searching for answers he travels to Katmandu and encounters the ancient one a Celtic mystic-sorcerer and gets his mind blown.

Trigger warning:  If you are a fundamentalist who automatically associates any thing that involves “magic” with witchcraft and a violation of Exodus 22:18 don’t even bother just find a another movie to watch. 

I saw this with my son as a Father/Son excursion, and I saw it in 3D.  And if you have a chance I would highly recommend watching it in 3D.  This was an entertaining movie and if I can say this Benedict Cumberpatch was actually rather droll as the character of the materialistic Stephen Strange.  And the only nitpick I have with the movie is making the cloak of levitation into the carpet from Aladdin.

Now other than the cloak, and maybe Cumberpatch slipping out of his American accent every once in awhile, I have no real complaints.  In fact Doctor Strange was actually kind of refreshing as the ending wasn’t a series of fisticuffs between the main protagonists.  

I give this movie three stars out of five.  

