Movie Review: 10 Cloverfield Lane



Producers: J. J. Abrams, and Lindsey Weber
Writers: Josh Campbell, Matt Stuecken
Director: Dan Trachtenberg
Cast: John Goodman, Mary Elizabeth Winstead, and John Gallagher, Jr.

Plot: After a bad break up with her fiancée a young woman packs her things and leaves traveling to an unknown destination. Only to crash and wake up chained to a wall.

I originally started this review three weeks ago around when the movie first came out.  But other things came up and I didn’t come back to it until today so here is the review:

So the scion of my house called me up and said Pater dear let’s take in a movie how about 10 Cloverfield Lane? Now I had no desire to see this movie. None at all, but since it had been a long time since we had seen a movie together so I agreed to go. And was I surprised! Now let me just say that I hadn’t seen the first Cloverfield movie and this one stands by itself and from what I have been told about the first one this really has nothing in common other than the name.

Having said that if you want a movie that will keep you guessing until the end this is the movie for you. Even though there are just three characters in this the interaction between them is intense. John Goodman’s portrayal of a doomsday prepper who has spent most of his life getting ready for the end of the world is brilliant.  He really shines in this movie and I haven’t seen this good of acting from him in a long time but he owns the character of Howard.

Mary Elizabeth Winstead as Michelle to was good for this film but her performance depended heavily upon Goodman’s, I mean she was good and  perfectly played the part of a woman who isn’t sure an apocalyptic episode has occurred or not.  But for me it was Goodman’s character that kept things going and heightened the suspense in the movie.

There is profanity and violence in this film so don’t take children to see this below the age of fifteen in my opinion.  However, having said that if you want a good edge of your seat thriller then go see 10 Cloverfield Lane.

I give this four stars out of five.

