Movie Review: Star Wars the Force Awakens


Writers: Lawrence Kasdan, J.J. Abrams, and others.
Director: JJ. Abrams
Cast:  Harrison Ford, Mark Hamill, Carrie Fisher, Adam Driver, Daisy Ridley, John Boyega, Oscar Isaac, Lupita Nyong’o, Andy Serkis, Domhnall Gleeson, Anthony Daniels, Peter Mayhew, and Max von Sydow.

Plot:  A sanitation engineer, a scavenger, and two over the hill smugglers help the rebellion put down the latest threat to the republic the scion of the Empire: The First Order.

First a disclaimer when it comes to movies that have Star in it the next word is usually Trek.  Yes Kirk and a phaser is what does it for me.  In fact I wasn’t planning on seeing this film in the theater at all.  However, a family member was stood up by a friend and so I stepped in to be the wing man.

Having said that let me say that I didn’t actually hate the movie.  There is action, comedy, drama everything a fan of the series wants to see.  Yet I’ve seen this all before.  A droid with important information for the rebellion found by someone who has the force in strength.  A father struck down by a son.  Finding a teacher to train in the way of the Jedi.  And destroying the ultimate weapon. This is parts of the plots of the first three (labeled 4-6) movies.  So it was like I was seeing them all over again only the Reader’s Digest condensed version.  I’ve been told that there are at least two more movies planned.  I really hope that the next two movies actually improve the plot line.

I’m giving this movie two stars.

3 thoughts on “Movie Review: Star Wars the Force Awakens

  1. Fun fact from your favorite film review follower. The recently released movie “The Masked Saint” is set in my home town, Lake Wales, FL. The pastor that wrote the book, Chris Whaley was the senior pastor at my home Church, Westside Baptist, also in Lake Wales. He performed the wedding ceremony for me and my lovely bride nearly 26 years ago.

Comments are closed.