Movie Review: Daredevil the series


Writers: Bill Everett, Drew Goddard, and others
Cast:  Charlie Cox, Deborah Ann Woll, Elden Henson, Vincent D’Onofrio

Plot:  Blinded as a child Matt Murdock found that his remaining senses were heightened to a hypersensitive level.  Trained by Stick as a  child to use those senses and to fight a grown Matt Murdock becomes the “Devil of Hell’s Kitchen” a lawyer by day and a vigilante by night getting justice one way or the other.

Yes I know this isn’t a movie, but having power watched this series over the weekend I want to give my opinion.

The good: If you suffered through the 2003 Ben Affleck Daredevil movie, and it really isn’t Ben Affleck’s fault, then this will restore your faith in this franchise. The series follows the “canon” established by the comic of the same name. I really missed that in the 2003 film. But in the series they explore why Matt Murdock becomes Daredevil. As well as the origin of Daredevil’s main villian the Kingpin Wilson Fisk.

And while I am at it this cast is inspired! Vincent D’Onofrio is amazing as Wilson Fisk, he brings the right amount of gravitas to the role. He sold me on it with his first appearance on the screen. Charlie Cox, who I last saw in Stardust, is Matt Murdock/Daredevil he projects the intensity that the role demand yet is vulnerable, he show Daredevil as driven but well aware of his limitations. And Eldon Hensen is Foggy Nelson to a “T” you could not ask for a more perfect portrayal. Deborah Ann Woll is perfect as Karen page she fleshes out the character and makes it more than what it originally was in the comics here she is a partner in all but name.

The bad: Truth be told there isn’t much bad with this series. But I must point out that this isn’t fodder for young children. The show is dark and gritty the action is intense and there is a high level of violence. There are deaths that are horrifying to watch. And I admit I needed to take a break from watching after a few episodes.

Over all I am giving this series four and a half stars with the proviso that it isn’t meant for children at all.

