Movie Review: Mean Machine


Producer: Matthew Vaughn, Guy Ritchie (Executive)
Director: Barry Skolnick
Cast: Vinnie Jones, David Kelly, David Hemmings, Ralph Brown, Jason Flemyng, Danny Dyer
and Jason Statham as ‘Monk’

Plot: Vinnie Jones plays a soccer player banned from the game for fixing a game between Germany and England. Sentence to prison for a drunken brawl where he assaulted two police officers and ran his car into the bar. Inside he is approached by the Warden and offered a job coaching the guard’s soccer team. He refuses instead he says he will make a soccer team out of the prisoners. After a series of incidents he wins the respect of the prisoners and they play against the guards.

If your thinking, wait, wait I know this one you’re right. This is the third remake of the Longest Yard. And I have to say it suffers greatly. These are the same jokes that were done in the original film and I have to say that it was done better in the original film. For that matter Adam Sandler did it better with his remake of this film. I have to say the most enjoyable part of this movie were the scenes with Jason Statham which were way too short.

This film has violence, swearing, drinking it’s not what I’d call family fare so don’t sit down with the kids and turned this on.

I am giving this two stars it is on Netflix but I would skip it.

