Movie Review: The Wind Rises



Director: Hayao Miyazaki
Writers: Hayao Miyazaki and others
Cast: Hideaki Anno, Hidetoshi Nishijima, Miori Takimoto, and others

Plot
A fictional account of the life of Jiro Horikoshi, the man who designed Japanese fighter planes during World War II.

You don’t mind if I gush like a fanboy for a moment do you? Hayao Miyazaki has been the director of some of the most beautiful animated films ever. Tears have come to my eyes, I am not ashamed to say, when viewing the world as painted by Miyazaki. Whether he was showing the world devastated by man’s constant warfare (Nausicaä), the battle of men against nature (Princess Mononoke), a young girls encounter with the supernatural (Spirited Away) or the antics of a thief with the heart of a hero (Lupin III: The Castle of Cagliostro) his vision has influenced and inspired both directors and artists.

So when I learned that Hayao Miyazaki was retiring from directing and there would be one last film from him I couldn’t wait.

And this wasn’t what I was expecting. I have to say that this is the first Miyazaki film that has disappointed me. And I hate to say this but it was bland. That isn’t to say that it wasn’t beautiful to look at but the story I’m sad to say couldn’t hold my interest. So no matter how lovely the annimation the story failed. I can’t believe I am saying this but unless you are a die hard Miyazaki fan, and even then, skip this one.

I give The Wind Rises one and a half stars out of five.

2 thoughts on “Movie Review: The Wind Rises

    • Jason a friend of mine who draws comics told me that the reviews in Japan as well as other places were bad. But I decided that I would just watch it no matter what. Well, I wish I hadn’t because I didn’t want the last Miyazaki film to be one that disappointed me. But this isn’t the last of Studio Ghibli keep that in mind.

Comments are closed.