Frenetic Friday


Okay let’s get this out of the way this is December 5th there are twenty more days, understand?

And now from the subtle to the not so subtle.

Understand that I am not in any way a fashion maven.  My sense of style leans toward comfortable jeans and cotton shirts.  So when I saw these photos I was gobsmacked.

{Pictures from Daily Mail Online}

And of course this started in Seattle in a Salon called Vain.  Do I really need to say anything more?  No I didn’t think so.

On to more serious subjects.

Pastor Voddie Baucham posted this at the Gospel Coalition:

Thoughts on Ferguson

In early August my wife and I, along with seven of our nine children, left for a month-long ministry tour in Africa (Kenya, Zambia, and South Africa). It was a couple of days before we got settled and had any access to media. As such, I was taken aback when I began to receive Google alerts, emails, and Facebook and Twitter messages either demanding that I comment on “Ferguson,” or condemning me for failing to do so. The only problem was, I had absolutely no idea what they were talking about. Who, what, or where was Ferguson? Why was it such a big deal? Why was I being condemned (along with other “high-profile” evangelicals) for “failing to speak out on such an important issue”? (read the rest here)

Pastor Baucham makes excellent points I suggest you read it carefully.  However, since that writing there has been at least two responses worth your consideration:  Tom Chantry’s post What Voddie Said (and Didn’t) which in my opinion is an excellent commentary regarding Voddie’s article.  And there is Alan Noble’s article Sin’s Part in the System (And Vice Versa): Thoughts on Voddie Bauchman’s Thoughts on Ferguson in which Mr. Noble takes Voddie to task and writes about his disappointment in what Pastor Baucham wrote.  I don’t agree with everything that Mr. Noble says however that is not to say that he doesn’t make some telling points.

It has been awhile since I posted on the war against boys so let me point you to this article:

The Sexodus, Part 1: The Men Giving Up On Women And Checking Out Of Society

My co-author pointed this to out me. Be aware that there is some profanity in the article but in it, and this is part one of two, the author gives reasons why young men have given up on relationships with young women.

And this from Pastor Rick Warren:

I don’t have the time nor the words to express how wrong what Pastor Warren said mainly because I start seeing red.  However, cooler heads have prevailed here is Dr. Whites’ response:

And now keeping with the season

HT: Robin

 

 

 

One Reply to “Frenetic Friday”

Comments are closed.