Catechism


Q . 116. What do we pray for in the fifth petition?
A. In the fifth petition, which is, “And forgive us our debts, as we forgive our debtors,” we pray that God, for Christ’s sake, would freely pardon all our sins; which we are the rather encouraged to ask, because by His grace we are enabled from the heart to forgive others.

12 and forgive us our debts,
as we also have forgiven our debtors.
Matthew 6:12

1 Have mercy on me, O God,
according to your steadfast love;
according to your abundant mercy
blot out my transgressions.
3 For I know my transgressions,
and my sin is ever before me.
7 Purge me with hyssop, and I shall be clean;
wash me, and I shall be whiter than snow.
Psalm 51:1,3,7

25 And whenever you stand praying, forgive, if you have anything against anyone, so that your Father also who is in heaven may forgive you your trespasses.”
Mark 11:25

35 So also my heavenly Father will do to every one of you, if you do not forgive your brother from your heart.”
Matthew 18:35

