Earworm Wednesday: Burnwylde – “Nights In White Satin”


So two conversations this week.  One was where someone asked me why do I post covers instead of the original?  I pointed out that if there was no “good” cover that I would post the original.  Which prompted again the same question: so why covers at all?  And here is the why: because some time the band who is covering the song puts their own unique twist that is as good or sometimes better than the original.

So, second conversation a friend of mine on a social site posted these lines:

Breathe deep the gathering gloom,
Watch lights fade from every room.
Bedsitter people look back and lament,
Another day’s useless energy spent.

Now anyone who has listened to Nights in White Satin has heard those lines.  However, those lyrics aren’t from Nights in White Satin, no they are from Late Lament which occurs at the end of Nights in White Satin on some recordings.  And I pointed that out which resulted in a fifteen minute discussion that led to nowhere other than having that song stuck in my head.  Enjoy.

