Movie Review: Non-Stop


Director:  Jaume Collet-Serra

Main Cast: Liam Neeson, Julianne Moore, Scoot McNairy |

 

Liam Neeson plays Bill Marks a drunken air marshal, a former cop that can’t get over his daughter’s death.  And he hates to fly.  Just the guy you want to entrust your safety to right?  Well on a non-stop flight (which just makes sense because puddle jumper just doesn’t work for a title.) Marks gets a text that tells him that unless 150 million dollars is sent to an off shore account  someone on the plane will die every twenty minutes.

Really do I need to go further in the synopsis of this plot?  Neeson has been reinvented as an action hero which I have mixed feelings about.  And this film is better, way better, than Taken 2.  The action is tighter and it seems to move at a decent pace.  But I think that Julianne Moore was wasted on this film.  If she is suppose to be the love interest then someone needs to clue in the writer that he has to add that into the plot.  I suppose she could have been the strong woman lead but again someone needs to tell the writer to add that to the plot.

Needless to say people are killed, Neeson saves the day and seems to get over his daughter’s death.

Things I liked the action was faster paced then the last Neesom action flick I saw (Taken 2), there was and excellently choreographed fight scene in the airplane’s toilet.  And this was the regular one not the handicapped toilet which actually bigger than you may realize (speaking from experience) but the one third the size of a closet one.

Things I disliked certain cheesiness of the villains, the formulaic hero, I mean really a former cop that is a drunk with family issues.  Just once I’d like a well adjusted man with a good family and great kids.  And seriously if he is really that messed up how the heck can this much trauma straighten out his wounded psyche?  Shouldn’t he be a hard core drunk after all that stress?

Wait until Netflicks for this one I give it two stars out of five.

 

6 thoughts on “Movie Review: Non-Stop

  1. I thought it was a great movie with plenty of suspense and an interestingly Hitchcockian claustrophobic feel. The only thing I really didn’t like about it was the way it ended. The villains really were corny. It almost felt as though the writers got writers’ block at the end and just threw something together. Great performance by Neeson, though. I agree that it is better than Taken 2 and, I would add, The Grey.

    • Oh yeah you’re right on that The Grey and Taken 2 were horrible. My trouble is that I have seen Neeson in way better movies and I set him to a higher standard.

  2. Well adjusted people with loving families are “boring,” so not good movie fare. And I suppose the old “a brush with death makes people realize what is truly important” theme plays well in movies too. In real life, of course, even many brushes with death won’t make any difference without a confrontation with the gospel! 😀

  3. Taken 2 is on my personal….worse Hollywood movies of all time list! I liked this one a bit more than you did though! It was fairly enjoyable and tough to predict despite the cliche and corn elements!

Comments are closed.