Movie Review Young Detective Dee: Rise of the Sea Dragon


Years ago just after the earth’s crust had cooled I as a young boy prowling the corridors of the local library I cam across a novel that was set in the Tang dynasty whose main character was a judge by the name of Dee.  So you can imagine my surprise when four years ago I came across a trailer for Detective Dee and the Mystery of the Phantom Flame.  This wasn’t the character I remembered from my childhood no this was a younger version of the character.  And I liked it.  So you can imagine my delight when I came across Young Detective Dee:  Rise of the Sea Dragon.
This is again set in the Tang dynasty of China, Detective Dee newly arrived in the capital amidst rumors of a dragon being seen in the sea and sinking the fleet of the Emperor.  The head of the royal detective department has been given ten days to solve this puzzle or lose his head and he is in no mood to deal with a young upstart from the outer provinces.
Dee when he enters the city foils a plot to kidnap a young courtesan which gets him thrown in jail.  But using his wits he convinces a jail doctor to let him out.  And while out persuades the chief of detectives to allow him to remain free as he helps him find the secret of the dragon.
My one regret with this movie is that I didn’t see it on a bigger screen.  This is the equivalent of Chinese Sherlock Holmes ( Robert Downey, Jude Law version) so there is plenty of action in the form of king fu fights and lavish sets it deserves to be seen on a movie screen not a TV screen.
This film isn’t dubbed but close captioned and parents might have to explain concepts such as what is a courtesan, then again maybe the kids won’t ask as they’ll be glued to the action scenes.  But be prepared.
Young Detective Dee: Rise of the Sea Dragon gets four stars out of five.
