Catechism


Q. 41. What benefits do believers receive from Christ at death?

A. The souls of believers are at death made perfect in holiness, and do immediately pass into glory, and their bodies, being still united to Christ, do rest in their graves till the resurrection.

 and to the assembly of the firstborn who are enrolled in heaven, and to God, the judge of all, and to the spirits of the righteous made perfect, – Hebrews 12:23

 I am hard pressed between the two. My desire is to depart and be with Christ, for that is far better. – Philippians 1:23

 Yes, we are of good courage, and we would rather be away from the body and at home with the Lord. – 2 Corinthians 5:8

  “Truly, I say to you, today you will be with me in Paradise.” -Luke 23:43

For since we believe that Jesus died and rose again, even so, through Jesus, God will bring with him those who have fallen asleep. 1 Thessalonians 4:14

he enters into peace;
they rest in their beds
who walk in their uprightness. Isaiah 57:2

And after my skin has been thus destroyed,
yet in my flesh I shall see God,
Job 19:26

