Linux part two


Well it was a long night and I will admit there were some fits and starts mostly caused by myself.  One thing I have learned is that not everyone on the internet know what their talking about especially when most of the linux peopple point to them as the go to guy for dual booting.  Yes Sidekick I’ve chosen to dual boot Windows 7 and Ubuntu 12.04 LTS.

Why keep Windows?  Well as I was cleaning up my machine removing programs that I no longer used because their alternates exist in Linux, I saw that there still existed a few necessary programs that only could be run in Windows and Wine wouldn’t run them.  Now I could perhaps have set up a virtual machine and done it but my only disk copy of Windows is XP and these programs are Windows 7. 

So why Ubuntu and not Xubuntu well mainly because I have enough ram on the desktop machine as opposed to my laptop.  Now that may change I may go through this one more time and put Xubuntu on the machine but right now it is going to be Ubuntu. 

And we now return control of your monitor to you.

4 Replies to “Linux part two”

  1. EXCELLENT! If you’re using any of the ‘buntus, LTS is the safe and sure way to go. If my old computer had the processing power, I would definitely have a look at Ubuntu. Uniity looks really slick and I like most of the impartial stuff I have read about it. On my tired old dog, though, Xubuntu rocks, and Lubuntu skips and hops (fast but halting, “fits and starts,” as you said). I’m looking forward to your review of Ubuntu, a distro I’ve wished to try out here at home but don’t have the processing power for.

    1. Well my next trick is to get my daughter to agree to try Xubuntu rather than buy a new laptop. But she is addicted to that itunes and if I can find a way to make that work on Xubuntu then two thirds of the battle is over.

Comments are closed.