Linux woes


So years ago I bought a laptop, I had wanted the mobility it promised as I didn’t wanted to be tied to my desktop if I wanted to code or read e-mail on the go. Well that was when XP was growing old and Vista was about to be the bright new shiny piece Microsoft pain in the southern posterior.

As with all electronics it became out dated by the time I got home. Which in case you didn’t know is SOP when it comes to computers. But I made the most of it until Microsoft in it’s infinite series of updates made my laptop run so slow I thought it was one of Babbage’s steam driven difference engines. I had a person I worked with suggest I try linux. A good idea I had grown bitter with the lack of control I had felt with Microsoft but at the same time I had no desire to return to the land of the command prompt.

So I looked for a distro that would be easy to install work on my older hardware and have a windows style interface. Hello Miint! This was what I wanted it made my laptop boot faster run smoother and I didn’t need virus software. Oh this was paradise not only that but I found equivalents for all of the various software I had been using and a great office suite.

Unfortunately Mint lost it’s freshness when it moved to a new desktop and when the support for my hardware also started to disappear. Again I went looking for a distro with ease of use and support for older hardware. Welcome to Xubuntu a (at that time) lightweight distro that again brought once again speed and ease of use to my laptop and the same software that was on Mint was available on Xubuntu.

Well here I am once again putting a different linux distro on my old laptop, this time it is Peppermint Os a hyper-cloud distro that makes use of web based apps that will supposedly improve the speed of my system.

So will I ever buy a new laptop? Probably not laptops are becoming passe and tablets are the new best thing and not only that but if Ubuntu’s promo is any indication of things to come my purchases will be running on linux.

4 Replies to “Linux woes”

  1. Nice post. To clarify some things: Xubuntu uses xfce4 as a desktop. You would not have needed to actually switch from Mint you could have just installed the xfce4 or xubuntu-desktop metapackage with a package manager. On second hand it is good that you try out different distros since only then you will actually know which one you like. If you want to have a lightweight distro out of the box you should take a look at Lubuntu which comes with Lxde: a really lightweight desktop. And if you run any Ubuntu based distro I would recommend running LTS versions since the amount of changes between every dist-upgrade can be sometimes too much when it comes to finding the choices you need to make to get a productive computer. And of course if you need any help defeating your Linux woes just ask: I was once in your shoes and I still remember quite well how it felt when things did not work like I wanted them to.

  2. If you trust the cloud, you’ll probably like Peppermint! It’s actually based on Ubuntu/Mint. And if you want an ultralight Linux distro with a spectacular desktop interface, have a look at Bodhi Linux with it’s Enlightenment desktop. Both are built on the Debian/Ubuntu base you’re already familiar with, so you might master them more quickly than I did with my move to Slackware.

Comments are closed.